Day One

So this is the first of thirty-one posts I will blog this month.  As a start, I thought I would introduce myself and give a bit of history.

I’ve lived in Melbourne for eight years, but I very much refer to the country as home.  I grew up in southern NSW in a tiny little town called Rand.  There wasn’t much to see in Rand.  In the last census the population stood at a strong 206 people.  We had corner store, post office, petrol station & a pub.  The heart of the town was the local footy, netball and cricket club – the Rand Pigeons!

I lived in Rand until I turned 18 and finished high school in a near by town called Corowa.  Most of my family, inducing my parents & brother still live in the area.  Once I graduated, I moved to Albury and attended Charles Sturt University for three years studying Information Technology.  During this time I also started part time work at Masterfoods in Wodonga. This eventually led me to my first real full time job after graduating in 2002.

When I finished Uni, a good friend of mine and I spent eight weeks traveling across Canada.  This was my first real taste of independent travel – and I loved it! Growing up,  I was lucky enough to have parents that would take us away every school holidays – mostly within Australia, but there were a few overseas trips in there too.  However, the trip to Canada in 02/03 was when I got the bitten by the travel bug.

Anyone who has met me will know that I love to travel.  I spent most of 2011 on an epic trip around the globe with my beautiful girlfriend – now soon-to-be beautiful wife!  We spent time in Canada, the US, Dominican Republic, France, Spain, Portugal, England, Italy, Greece and Thailand.  It was on this trip that I first attempted blogging.  We started vagamos.com with the intention to share our experiences with our family and friends.  I’d like to think it was fairly successful.  We now have a great visual diary of our time abroad and managed to meet heaps of amazing people along the way – both virtually and in real life.

As for this blog, I’m still not sure what or where it will head.  I’m going to write about what’s on my mind at the time.  I wouldn’t expect anything too profound, but I do hope you’ll find it interesting. My real goal is to try to keep something up for 31 days straight.  It was either this or given up drinking for a month – and we all know that is never going to happen.

See you on day two.

4 Comments on “Day One”

  1. Paul says:

    Looking forward to seeing how you’re traveling at around, say, March 23.

  2. […] this all about? Day one […]

  3. Pinkus says:

    Yes! Got a mention!… well sort of. Moose Jaw yeah!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

