Dag Vijf

Maybe it’s because my family have been involved in growing vegetables over three generations.  Or perhaps I was inspired while travelling through Italy and Greece, eating some amazingly fresh food.  It could just be as simple as I was fed up with the rubbish the local supermarkets were trying to sell me. Looking back it was probably a combination of the three, but for what ever reason, this last summer was the summer I decided to grow my own veggies.

My brother kindly donated the plants from the nursery and provided me with all the essentials – good soil, fertalizer and most importantly – excellent advice.  Being a first time gardener, I decided to start slow and with the basics. Our patch had a herb garden with basil, coriander and parsley, two capsicum plants, a roma and gourmet tomato plant, an egg plant and my favourite – a hot chilli plant.

Although it’s probably not a sustainable way to keep a consistent supply of vegetables, there is something very rewarding about growing and preparing your own food.  And nothing beats cooking (and eating) fresh vegetables.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

